Main Menu
Home
Breeds
Horses For Sale
Books For Sale
Ryegrass Seed
Potatoes
Our Farm
Gallery
Newsletters
Reviews
Contact Us
Service Providers
Stud And Breed Societies
African Horse Sickness:
   Know as much as you can
   (discussion document)
Reviews
Find Us On Facebook

We take pride in ensuring that our visitors have a memorable experience at Waterford Farm and Penwarn Lodge. This page contains some of the reviews we receive.
 

---------------0--------------

September 2013
Mark - SA
“Drakensberg splendour in wilderness heaven” Penwarn ticks lots of boxes. Cherie the manager spent almost an hour at the start of our trip showing us the ins and outs of the estate and the farming operations and fishing facilities. This meant that from the out-start we knew what to expect, where to go and what to do. It may have been Samuel Pepys who said the man who is bored with London is bored with life. The same can be said of Penwarn. If you find Penwarn boring you are probably a bore yourself and I'm afraid I don't have anything to offer you. If on the other hand you still feel the blood pumping through ye olde veins there is plenty at Penwarn. I have never seen over seventy Crowned Cranes perched in a field. I have never seen two wattled cranes fly overhead with their awkward squawking noises like a querrolous old couple. And the dams hold big fish. So big I thought I had the QE II attached to my black woolly bugger at one point. I never found out what precisely it was that snapped my 3x tippet like it was a spider's web. Views of the berg are spectacular. Highly recommended.

---------------0--------------

September 2013
Paul - SA
"We had a great stay at Penwarn Country Lodge (The Log Cabin).  It was so relaxing up on the hill with beautiful views and no one around.  Lots of time to do nothing at all and just enjoy the quiet.  The Log Cabin might not be every city slickers taste – we loved it though not having electricity (there is solar energy available for the fridge and a light if you really must) and only using the lamps and fire place to light the cabin.  I would definitely suggest going on horseback around the lodge.  All the staff are very friendly and attentive and happy to make suggestions/recommendations.  We enjoyed our stay at Penwarn very much and definitely recommend it to those who enjoy the peace and quiet of nature."

---------------0--------------

August 2013
John - Cirencester, United Kingdom
“God’s country”
Quite the most magical place to stay with excellent accommodation, friendly and knowledgeable staff and what must be one of the finest horse studs in South Africa.  The setting of majestic vies of the Drakensberg combined with a wonderful showing of some of the finest horses and wild game makes this a must for serious travellers in Kwazulu Natal.

---------------0--------------

From Our Visitors Book:
July 2013
Maritz Family - Hillcrest - "Wonderful setting, friendly staff. Beautiful horses."

---------------0--------------

April 2012
Anton & Anita
"A couple of weeks ago Anton and I visited Penwarn Trout and Equine Estate.  We stayed at Kudu.  Kudu is well equipped and we had everything we needed.   The view is absolutely beautiful and we really enjoyed the Shire horses and cute Donkeys grazing in front of Kudu.  Hubby also enjoyed trout fishing.  We had a lovely time just walking up to the horses.

We got stuck in the mud as it was raining and a friendly black guy (unfortunately we forgot his name),  came to help us.  A special thanks to him.  Anton and I really enjoyed using the Winch for the first time!!!  Also thank you to the tree  for her help, we had fun.

Thank you for a wonderful outride with the horses, we enjoyed the scenic view and all the wild life.

Just a special thanks to Cherrie and Ruben for their hospitality, friendliness and awesome late night conversations, you guys really made us feel welcome and we are looking forward to visit the lodge again.  We really enjoyed it.  Thanks to the cook for his/her mouth watering dinners, the food was really lovely.  Thanks to all the staff at Penwarn, you guys are awesome."
 

---------------0--------------

 
  February 2012
Dylan
"This place is a must, breath taking views, animals, dams & rivers even a waterfall.
They have it all. We stayed in the log cabin. It is stunning.
Two words describe this place "peace & tranquility". We will be going back really soon. If you are a fisherman - Guys trust me its HEAVEN on earth.
Thank you so much to the staff it was amazing!"
 
 

---------------0--------------

 
  20/08/2011
Donovan
"Hi Barbara, just a final thank you for the wonderful wedding which we had at Penwarn this past weekend.
After deciding to go with Penwarn earlier on this year, a colleague mentioned that she had also attended a wedding there some time ago and was very complimentary about her experience.
Based on our experience, I will not hesitate to recommend Penwarn in the future should anyone ask about venues in the Berg."
 
 

---------------0--------------

 
  21/03/2011
Denzil + Felicity
"What a wonderful, peaceful time we had. The staff are absolutely amazing.
Service was tops and their friendliness made our stay so enjoyable. Thank you
For spoiling us with Dinner, Breakfast + a Birthday cake! Thanks for caring.
A Definite improvement in the flavours of the meals since the early 2010.
The food was very good – can’t stay away! Will take flyers + advertise this
Piece of heaven on earth."
 
 

---------------0--------------

 
  26/02/2011
Verwas + Seydaack – Pretoria
"We had an amazing time and will most definitely return for another visit.
Thank you to Retha & Christo for there kind hospitality and also a BIG thank you to Mondi
What an amazing experience we had with him and the horses.
One day when we are older we would like to have our own little place like this.
The horses here.....Wow.....is all I can Say.
See you all again soon."
 
 

---------------0--------------

 
  8/12/2010
Gavin + Kim – Jhb
"We absolutely fell in love with Penwarn! Thanks so much For everything!
To all at Penwarn for your kindness, hospitality, Wonderful food and companionship!
We will most certainly be back."
 
 

---------------0--------------

 
  5/11/2010
Jasmin + Alex – Switzerland
"Thank you so much for everything, we enjoyed it very much.
This was one of the most beautiful and stunning places we have ever been On our world trip.
You all do a very great job and we wish you all the best For your future.
We will recommend this place to our friends and we will come back!
Special thanks to Retha & Christo for the hosting and looking after us.
Would love to see you again maybe in Switzerland.
You are always welcome."

Some of the photo's they took while at Penwarn can be viewed here - http://weltreise-alex-jasmin-2.jimdo.com/südafrika/05-durban-port-elizabeth/
 
 

---------------0--------------

"Hi everyone,
Firstly, I must apolgize for not having written sooner but I have just not had the time. Secondly, I just wanted to write and say thank-you all for making our stay at Penwarn (Kudu Lodge) so amazing. From the moment we arrived, a little frazzled after driving down the Khyber Pass, to the wonderful meals served in our lodge, the views of the drakensberg from our stoep, the wonderfully comfortable beds. animals, ponds, walks. Everything was perfect. Thanks for going the extra mile, your hospitality was amazing and my mom Doreen, my sister Karen and I myself had an amazing holiday thanks to your hard work.
Merry Christmas and we hope to see you all again soon.
Kind regards
Debbie"

---------------0--------------

 
   
Copyright © Waterford Farm